Tuesday, 8 November 2016


Over View About Uganda

The Republic of Uganda, is located in Eastern Africa, is a landlocked country occupying a total area of 241,550.7 square kilometres - 18% of which is open inland waters and wetlands.
It lies astride the equator and is bordered by the Republic of South Sudan to the North, Kenya to the East, Tanzania to the South, Rwanda to the South West and Democratic Republic of Congo to the West.

Uganda lies astride the Equator between longitudes 29 ½° East and 35° East and between latitudes 4 ½° North and ½° South, at an average altitude of 1,100 meters above sea- level. 

Uganda has an estimated population of about 34.5 million people and a population growth rate of 3.2%, one of the highest in the world (Source; Uganda Bureau of Statistics).
The country is currently governed under a multiparty system following a national referendum in July 2005, which opened the door for political parties to contest for leadership.  Since then, the country has held three elections under the multiparty system (2006, 2011 and 2016) won by the incumbent President Yoweri Kaguta. Museveni, who first came to power in 1986.